Foxworth, Mississippi and DUI
If you are arrested for drunk driving or DUI in Foxworth, Mississippi, you may be tempted to plead guilty and put the DUI behind you as soon as possible. What you may not realize, however, is that a drunk driving conviction is a serious criminal charge and may have long-term consequences for you, your family and your employment opportunities.
Additionally, in most states a DUI conviction cannot be expunged from your driving record, which means that a criminal background check will notify anyone who asks that you have been convicted of DUI.
Penalties for DUI in Foxworth, Mississippi
According to Mississippi DUI laws, it is “unlawful for any person to drive or otherwise operate a vehicle within this state who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, who is under the influence of any other substance which has impaired such person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle or who has an alcohol concentration of eight one-hundredths percent (.08%) or more for persons 21 years of age or older. Drivers who are under the legal drinking age can be charged with DUI if their blood alcohol concentration is 0.02% or higher.
Drivers convicted of DUI in Foxworth, Mississippi will be fined at least $250.00 but no more than $1,000, they will be imprisoned for not more than forty-eight (48) hours in jail, and the court will order them to attend and complete an alcohol safety education program as provided in Section 63-11-32. The court may substitute attendance at a victim impact panel instead of forty-eight (48) hours in jail. Their driver’s license may also be suspended for at least ninety (90) days and until such time they attend and successfully complete an alcohol safety education program. License suspensions cannot exceed one year.
Can I get a hardship license after a DUI in Foxworth, Mississippi?
The state will also generally grant a hardship license after 30 days suspension for first time DUI offenders. A hardship license is specifically awarded for the following:
- Continuing employment
- Continuing to attend school or some type of educational institution
- To obtain necessary medical care
The hardship license cannot be used for any type of unauthorized use. According to Mississippi DUI laws, “Proof of the hardship shall be established by clear and convincing evidence which shall be supported by independent documentation.”
What do I do after my DUI in Foxworth, Mississippi?
Generally, the first step is to talk to a DUI lawyer. If you have refused to take the blood alcohol concentration test or you took the BAC test but failed, you will have your license immediately suspended through an administrative license suspension.
The administrative license suspension must be served whether or not you are ultimately convicted of DUI. This suspension can, however, be challenged through an administrative hearing, but the request for a hearing must be made immediately after the DUI arrest.
If you have questions about your DUI in Foxworth, Mississippi, and would like to talk to a DUI lawyer, complete the FREE case evaluation form.
Latest posts by Beth (see all)
- Chapter 7 bankruptcy how to avoid filing a second time? - April 24, 2017
- Chapter 7 bankruptcy how do they determine if I can file? - April 19, 2017
- Receiving Supplemental Security Income can I file for bankruptcy? - April 12, 2017